All Party Parliamentary Group on Charities and Volunteering

The All Party Parliamentary Group on Charities and Volunteering (formerly the APPG on Civil Society and Volunteering) provides a forum for discussing the issues affecting the voluntary and community sector. NCVO is delighted to provide the secretariat for this group.

Meetings are attended by a range of parliamentarians and members of the voluntary sector. Recent topics have ranged from the role of charities in campaigning to volunteer internships. The APPG also holds a yearly meeting with the Charity Commission and the Minister for Civil Society.

Officers to the APPG in the current parliament are:

  • Susan Elan Jones MP (Labour Party)
  • Chris White MP (Conservative Party)
  • Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts (Conservative Party)
  • Baroness Pitkeathley (Labour Party)

Vice chairs:

  • Martin Docherty MP (Scottish National Party)
  • Dr Paul Monaghan MP (Scottish National Party)


  • Lord Shinkwin (Conservative Party)

The APPG on Charities and Volunteering is registered with the House of Commons. Further details can be found in this document.

How to get involved

We very much welcome attendees from the voluntary sector. Please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you would like to be added to the mailing list for invitations. Meetings usually take the form of presentations by speakers and then a Q&A with the floor. However, parliamentarians do have priority in asking questions.

Next meetings

13 April 2016
Committee Room 6, Houses of Parliament Social investments

Previous meetings

9 March 2016 Charity fundraising with Lord Grade, chair of the new Charity Fundraising Regulator
9 February 2016 Small charities plus EGM
7 December 2015 Christmas reception
13 October 2015 Update from the Charity Commission and the Scottish Charity Regulator
14 July 2015 Building on sound foundations: scaling up Employer Supported Volunteering
9 June 2015 Volunteer internships: opportunity or exploitation plus AGM
3 March 2015 General election hustings
20 January 2015
Small charities
18 November 2014
An exchange with Paula Sussex, Chief Executive of the Charity Commission
14 October 2014 Ageing and Pensions
8 July 2014 Young People and the Voluntary Sector plus AGM
13 May 2014 New Landscapes in Funding
25 March 2014 Looking to the future
21 January 2014 Update from the Charity Commission
8 November 2013 Supporting small charities
22 October 2013 Charities and their campaigning role
25 June 2013 AGM and update from the Office for Civil Society
30 April 2013 Challenges facing UK charities
19 March 2013 Why does Leadership Matter?
30 January 2013 Update from William Shawcross, Chair of The Charity Commission
Site by Clickingmad